The Might of “Might”

Might.  As I type that word, it seems weird. This could be from the dyslexia or the caffeine of my Venti pour-over, but I think that it just looks weird alone. It’s one of those words that needs the support of other words to make it look ok. But there are strong words, that can stand alone with all of the power in the world.

Yes.

No.

Stop.

You get the point. I find it interesting that “might” isn’t strong enough to stand alone, and yet it means power, or more specifically:

might
mīt/
noun
noun: might
  1. great and impressive power or strength, especially of a nation, large organization, or natural force.

Might means great power, but it doesn’t seem to have the strength to stand alone. Ironic, isn’t it? To mean one thing, but not actually be able to do it? It seems nearly hypocritical, being defined one way, but not appearing that way.

Personally, I think might fits in with it’s second definition much better.

might
mīt/
verb
modal verb: might
  1. used to express possibility or make a suggestion.

Might is a word to show possibility, which seems to work more with the aesthetic of the word. “Might” needs to be in a phrase to describe the possibility of something.

I don’t like “might.” Maybe because I use it to be a coward. I use it to acknowledge the possibility of failure, even putting it at the front of my mind. When I know I need to clean my dorm, but really don’t want to, I say I might do it, sometimes just to appease those around. But at the same time, I know that I really won’t get any close to cleaning my room.

“Might”, the word of B.S.

Have you ever used “might” as a cop-out? It’s a good way to avoid the pressure and just get people to leave you alone. But while it makes you avoid disapproval, it makes you abandon accountability. I love how Jesus says it during the famous Sermon on The Mount.

But let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No,’ ‘No.’ For whatever is more than these is from the evil one.

Matthew 5:37

A lot of us like the first half of this verse. Let your “yes” be “yes.” We use it to tell people not to screw with us and make empty promises. But that second part makes this pretty serious. I think this also makes this scripture apply internally. Anything else other the straight truth that we give shows a lack of integrity inside of ourselves. We want to leave ourselves an exit, a way out of a promise or a commitment. Why? Because commitment is scary. We don’t want to be held to our word, but be able to flake at any whim. Because that is what feels good.

But we are called to be more than that. We are called to do more than that. So what should we do? Leave might and replace it with a powerful word:

Will.

See, “will” can stand alone. And it also means a few things.

will2
wil/
noun
noun: will; plural noun: wills
  1. the faculty by which a person decides on and initiates action.
  2. expressing inevitable events.

“Will” is what allows us to make the choice of inevitably. Will holds us to the fire until we make it all the way through, or we simply admit that it won’t (another form of will) happen. “Will” is being accountable for what we do and say.

So, leave “might” in the dictionary. All it will do is hold you back, keeping you caught up in the escape of your potential. Embrace “will. ” Embrace that you won’t know what you can do until you do it. We all have potential, but we waste it one what could be, instead of what we will make a reality.

No one changed the world by saying, “I might make a difference.” If we did, minorities wouldn’t have the rights that we do. I wouldn’t be in college. Heck, I wouldn’t be sitting here writing this. Why? Becuase my dyslexia and processing speed allow me to say, “I might be able to write a blog.” Instead, I said that I would, and now here we are.

Isn’t it funny how one word can change the world?

So stop hiding behind the “might” and start living our your “will,” before someone else has to. Because time is limited and impatient. And if nothing acts on a body at rest, it will stay at rest.

So be the change. We spend so much time complaining and living in fear and laziness that we forget that we have the potential to make the difference we are looking for.

So what will I do?

I will be a church planter.

I will integrate design thinking into the American Protestant Church.

I will be the change that I desire in this world.

What will you do?

Leave a Reply

